Mangalore Port is a modern all-weather port situated at Panambur, Mangalore (Karnataka State in South India), on the West Coast of India, 170 nautical miles South of Mormugao & 191 nautical miles North of Cochin Port.


  • The Mangalore Harbour Projects Started in 1962, was completed in May 1974.
  • An ISO 9001:2008, ISO 14001:2004 – ISPS Compliant Port
  • Deepest inner harbour on the west coast with 15.4 mtrs depth at the entrance channel
  • Instant access to 3 National Highways : NH 13, 17 & 18
  • Instant access to Southern, South-Western and Konkan Railways
    Timber Handling
  • Grain Handling
  • Floating Craft
  • NMPT

The New Mangalore Port was declared as the 9th Major Port on 4th May 1974 and was formally inaugurated by the former Prime Minister of India, Smt. Indira Gandhi on 11th January 1975.

Till 31st March 1980, the Government of India centrally administered both project and the port On 1st April 1980, the Port Trust Board was set up under the Major Port Trust Act, 1963 and was Inaugurated by the then Minister for Shipping & Transport, A.P. Sharma on 31st March, 1980. Since then NMPT Port has been functioning as the 10th Major Port Trust and has fallen in line with other Major Port Trusts functioning in the country.